Home / News /

Tanzim Hasan will take over for Ebadot at the Asia Cup.

Ebadot Hossain, a fast bowler for Bangladesh, will not be able to compete in the coming Asia Cup due to a knee injury he suffered during the ODI series against Afghanistan last month. 10 days after being selected to the 17-person squad, Ebadot still hasn’t finished the rehab program. Tanzim Hasan, a 20-year-old uncapped fast bowler, will take his position. It is currently unknown if Ebadot will be ready for the World Cup.

Since making his ODI debut in August of last year, Ebadot has taken wickets in 11 of the 12 matches he has played. Despite only being selected for one game against Afghanistan last month, he has been in strong form in white-ball cricket. Dr. Debashis Chowdhury, the chief sports physician for BCB, stated that Ebadot’s World Cup preparation rehabilitation is being given top priority. They could even confer with experts abroad for this.

“Ebadot had undergone six weeks of rehabilitation following the injury,” stated Dr. Chowdhury. “During this time, we’ve had a number of MRIs done, and the results indicate that his ACL is still a worry and needs further management. As a result, he is excluded from the Asia Cup. The BCB is dedicated to investigating every safe medical option available to get Ebadot back to full health and playing as soon as possible, including consultation and treatment abroad, in light of the significance of the Bangladesh team’s next major tournament, which is the ICC World Cup in October.

Tanzim has 57 List A wickets from 37 games, with no international experience in any of the three formats. This includes nine from three matches in the just finished ACC Emerging Men’s Asia Cup in Sri Lanka. Last season, he assisted Abahani Limited in winning the Dhaka Premier League by taking 17 wickets.

Tanzim is the ninth player from the team that won the Under-19 World Cup in 2020 to join the senior squad. They include Towhid Hridoy, Mrittunjoy Chowdhury, Parvez Hossain, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Shamim Hossain, and Shoriful Islam.

Shakib Al Hasan will captain the Bangladeshi team for the Asia Cup, along with Litton Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Towhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Nasum Ahmed, Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Naim, Shamim Hossa


More Trending News

Special Offer



Get In Touch With CricAdvisor Telegram Agents!