Home / News /

Between SRH and RCB, there have been three genuinely memorable IPL encounters.

SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) will face Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in match 65 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 on Thursday, May 18 at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad.

Even though SRH is no longer in contention for a playoff position, they will try to reclaim their pride. They were defeated by the Gujarat Titans (GT) by 34 runs in their previous encounter.

But RCB is playing for much more than simply pride. They are really close to making the playoffs with 12 points from 12 games. In their most recent match, they defeated Rajasthan Royals (RR) by 112 runs after allowing them only 59 runs. Because of how much they won by, their net run rate, which is presently +0.166, increased significantly.

Looking at how Hyderabad and Bangalore have performed against each other, SRH has won 12 of the 22 games played, while RCB has won only nine. One game had no results.

There have been some amazing games between these two teams over the years of the IPL. Before the next meeting between SRH and RCB, we take a look back at three of their most memorable encounters.

RCB won the IPL 2021 by six runs:
Royal Challengers Bangalore defeated SunRisers Hyderabad by six runs in a low-scoring encounter at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai for the IPL 2021. As the first team to bat, RCB could only manage 149/8. However, their bowlers limited SRH to a total of 143/9. For Bangalore, Virat Kohli scored 33 runs, but Glenn Maxwell was the team’s greatest batter. He scored 59 runs on 41 balls, including five fours and three sixes. Maxwell was silent for the most part, but he opened up at the end. He struck T. Natarajan for two fours and Jason Holder for a six in the second-to-last over, but he was out on the penultimate ball.

Then, in RCB’s narrow triumph, Shahbaz Ahmed (3/7), Harshal Patel (2/25) and Mohammed Siraj (2/25) did fantastic things with the ball. SRH was led by David Warner, who scored 54 runs, and Manish Pandey, who scored 38 runs. However, after 96/1, Hyderabad disintegrated in ways that no one could explain. It came down to 16 runs needed in the final over, but Harshal only gave up nine, and Bangalore pulled off a memorable come-from-behind victory.

IPL 2013: SRH defeated RCB in a low-scoring fight at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad in the seventh match of the 2013 IPL. The game was decided in the Super Overtime period.
Bangalore batted first in the match, however despite the efforts of Kohli (46) and Moises Henriques (44) they were only able to score 130/8. SRH’s best scores were 3 and 27 from Ishant Sharma.

Bangalore responded by hitting at regular intervals. Hyderabad was in trouble at 101/6. Henriques (2/14) and Jaydev Unadkat (2/24) were excellent with the ball. However, Hanuma Vihari scored 44* off 46 balls to keep SRH in the contest.

When they required two runs off the last ball, Vihari and Dale Steyn took a bye off the last ball to draw the game. Cameron White hit Vinay Kumar for two sixes, giving SRH 20 points in the Super Over. Despite facing Kohli and Chris Gayle in the Super Over, Steyn kept RCB at 15 runs.

SRH won the IPL 2016 by eight runs:
SunRisers Hyderabad defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore in the IPL 2016 final at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore. In a high-scoring encounter, SRH batted first and posted a massive score of 208/7.

Captain David Warner scored the highest runs with 69 off 38 balls. Yuvraj Singh finished the game with 38 runs in 23 balls and Ben Cutting with 39* runs in 15 balls. Chris Jordan took three wickets for Bangalore but conceded 45 runs.

Gayle (76 runs off 38 balls) and Kohli (54 runs off 35 balls) put on 114 runs for the first wicket in 10.3 overs to get the Royal Challengers Bangalore off to a flying start in their pursuit. Gayle concluded the amazing stand by hitting Cutting’s ball to third base. Then Kohli was hit on the stumps by a delivery from Barinder Sran.

Following Kohli’s dismissal, AB de Villiers (5), KL Rahul (11), Shane Watson (11) and Stuart Binny (9) all died swiftly, and Bangalore lost all direction.

In the end, RCB were kept to 200/7, and Cutting (2/35), who performed admirably in all areas, was named Player of the Final.


More Trending News

Special Offer



Get In Touch With CricAdvisor Telegram Agents!